

Service Director – Legal, Governance and Commissioning Julie Muscroft

The Democracy Service First Floor, Civic Centre 3 High Street Huddersfield HD1 2TG

Tel: 01484 221000

Decision Summary

Committee: Date: Committee Clerk: TEL:

Chair Councillor Mumtaz Hussain

Councillors Attended

Councillor Masood Ahmed Councillor Mahmood Akhtar Councillor Karen Allison Councillor Bill Armer Councillor Gulfam Asif Councillor Donna Bellamy **Councillor Martyn Bolt** Councillor Cahal Burke **Councillor Aafaq Butt Councillor Andrew Cooper Councillor Paola Antonia Davies Councillor Paul Davies Councillor Richard Eastwood Councillor Donald Firth Councillor Eric Firth Councillor Michelle Grainger-Mead Councillor Charles Greaves** Councillor David Hall **Councillor Steve Hall** Councillor Lisa Holmes Councillor Erin Hill **Councillor James Homewood** Councillor Yusra Hussain **Councillor Christine Iredale** Councillor Manisha Roma Kaushik **Councillor Viv Kendrick** Councillor Musarrat Khan

COUNCIL WEDNESDAY 21 OCTOBER 2020 Andrea Woodside 01484 221000 Councillor John Lawson **Councillor Vivien Lees-Hamilton Councillor Susan Lee-Richards Councillor Gwen Lowe Councillor Aleks Lukic Councillor Terry Lyons Councillor Andrew Marchington Councillor Naheed Mather** Councillor Peter McBride Councillor Bernard McGuin Councillor Alison Munro Councillor Richard Murgatroyd Councillor Darren O'Donovan **Councillor Shabir Pandor Councillor Nigel Patrick** Councillor Carole Pattison Councillor Amanda Pinnock Councillor Andrew Pinnock **Councillor Kath Pinnock Councillor Mohammad Sarwar** Councillor Cathy Scott Councillor Will Simpson Councillor Elizabeth Smaje **Councillor Anthony Smith** Councillor Richard Smith Councillor Mohan Sokhal Councillor John Taylor Councillor Kath Taylor **Councillor Mark Thompson** Councillor Graham Turner Councillor Sheikh Ullah Councillor Harpreet Uppal Councillor Rob Walker **Councillor Lesley Warner** Councillor Michael Watson **Councillor Paul White** Councillor Habiban Zaman

Co-optees

Attendees

Observers

Apologies

Councillor Nosheen Dad, Councillor Charlotte Goodwin, Councillor Fazila Loonat and Councillor Mussarat Pervaiz

5: Dates of Council Meetings 2020-2021

To determine dates and times for meetings of Council for the remainder of 2020-21 Municipal Year.

Contact: Carol Tague, Democracy Manager

That the schedule of Council meetings for the remainder of the 2020-21 municipal year be approved

6: Council Budget Strategy Update; 2021/2022 and following years

To consider the report.

Contact: Eamonn Croston, Service Director - Finance

1. That the funding and spend assumptions informing the updated budget forecasts as set out in section 2.3 to 2.15 of the report be noted

2. That the current and forecast earmarked reserves and general balances as set out at Appendix B be noted

3. That the corporate budget timetable and approach set out at Appendix F be noted.

4. That the revised Minimum Revenue Provision Policy as set out in Section 2.14 of the report be approved

5. That the decision on preferred option for Business Rates Pool arrangements for 2021/22 to be delegated to the Chief Executive and Service Director –

Finance, in consultation with the Leader and Corporate Portfolio holder, as per Section 2.4 of the report be approved

6. That the updated multi-year capital budget plans as set out at Appendix D be approved

7. That the flexible capital receipts strategy set out in Section 2.17 of the report be approved

8. That the financial planning framework set out in Section 1.4 of the report be approved

9. That the budget consultation approach and timetable set out in Section 3 of the report be approved.

7: Our Council Plan

To consider the report.

Contact: Kate McNicholas, Head of Policy, Partnerships and Corporate Planning

That 'Our Council Plan' and 'Measuring our impact and progress against the 2018/20 Corporate Plan' be approved

8: Tackling Inequalities

To consider the report.

Contact: Kate McNicholas, Head of Policy, Partnerships and Corporate Planning

That the report be noted and the establishment of the Inequalities Commission be endorsed.